You Ask and We Answer

Answers to Frequently Asked Questions

“Everything you’ve always wanted to know about taxes, law, and financial planning but never dared to ask…”

Well, to be honest, “everything” is not what you will find here. What you will find, however, are answers to some basic questions that we keep hearing.

But maybe you have a totally different question? Don’t hesitate to contact us directly. Just call us or write a message using the contact form. We will get back to you without delay.

What documents are needed to prepare a tax return?
For your convenience, we have provided a comprehensive checklist under downloads. It contains an overview relating to almost any specific situation.
How much does it cost to have a tax return prepared?

We charge an average rate of CHF 180 per hour for our services, exclusive of VAT and expenses (photocopies, phone calls, postage). Depending on the complexity of your financial situation, a tax return usually costs between CHF 700 and CHF 3,000. Costs for any additional tasks, such as reviewing tax appraisals, are charged separately.

How much time do you need to prepare my tax return?

As a rule, we start working on your tax return upon receipt of the necessary documents. The entire process usually takes between three weeks and two months. We take urgent inquiries and special requests into consideration as a matter of course.

Do I need to visit you in person to hand over a mandate?

No, you don’t. That said, we very much appreciate getting to know you personally first. As a rule, we propose an initial meeting at our premises so that we can tailor our consultancy services to best fit your specific needs. If you don’t have the time, you are welcome to send us your tax documents (see checklist) directly or arrange for an initial consultation by telephone.

Do you also file US tax returns?

No, but we would be happy to assist you on the Swiss filing side, taking account of all double tax treaty issues. For specific US issues, such as US tax return filing etc., we closely cooperate with a few companies located here in Zurich. You will find their contact details under US Taxes

Can you tell me if I can afford early retirement?

We will be happy to find out for you! For example, we will create an overview of your financial situation and outlook, taking into account various scenarios (staggered payment of pillar 3a assets, pension versus lump-sum withdrawal, etc.). Feel free to contact us.

Do I have to set up a GmbH (limited liability company) if I want to start my own business?

Not necessarily. Your individual family situation, and thus the need for safety in the event of accident or illness, may influence the answer to this question. Let us discuss this personally – contact us.

Frequently Asked Questions

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen

«Alles, was Sie schon immer über Steuern, Recht und Vorsorge wissen wollten, aber bisher nicht zu fragen wagten …»

Spass beiseite. Alles finden Sie hier nicht. Aber doch die Antworten auf einige grundsätzliche Fragen, die uns immer wieder gestellt werden.

Haben Sie eine ganz andere Frage? Zögern Sie nicht, uns direkt zu kontaktieren. Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns mit Hilfe des Kontaktformulars. Sie werden umgehend von uns hören.

Welche Unterlagen werden für die Ausarbeitung der Steuererklärung benötigt?
Unter Downloads haben wir auf dieser Website eine ausführliche Checkliste aufgeschaltet. Sie enthält eine Übersicht für fast alle Fälle.
Was kostet die Ausarbeitung einer Steuererklärung?

Wir verrechnen unsere Leistungen nach Zeitaufwand mit einem durchschnittlichen Stundenansatz von CHF 180, zuzüglich Mehrwertsteuer und Barauslagen (Fotokopien, Telefone, Frankatur). Je nach Komplexität Ihrer Steuersituation bewegen sich die Kosten in der Regel zwischen CHF 700 und CHF 3 000. Die Kosten für zusätzliche Aufträge wie die Prüfung von Steuerentscheiden werden separat in Rechnung gestellt.

Wie lange benötigen Sie für die Ausarbeitung meiner Steuererklärung?

Grundsätzlich werden die Steuererklärungen nach Eingang der Steuerunterlagen bearbeitet. In der Regel dauert dies zwischen drei Wochen bis zu zwei Monaten. Dringende Anfragen und spezielle Wünsche versuchen wir aber selbstverständlich zu berücksichtigen.

Muss ich für die Mandatsübergabe bei Ihnen persönlich vorbei kommen?

Nein. Aber wir schätzen einen ersten persönlichen Kontakt sehr. In der Regel schlagen wir unseren Neukunden ein Erstgespräch in unseren Räumlichkeiten vor, damit wir die optimale Beratung aufgrund der Kundenbedürfnisse gewährleisten können. Falls es Ihnen zeitlich nicht passt, können Sie uns aber gerne Ihre Steuerunterlagen (siehe Checkliste) auch direkt zustellen oder ein telefonisches Erstgespräch vereinbaren.

Do you also file US tax returns?
No, but we would be happy to assist you on the Swiss filing side, considering all double tax treaty issues. For specific US issues, such as US tax return filing etc., we work closely with a few companies located here in Zurich. You find respective addresses under US Taxes.
Können Sie mir sagen, ob ich mir eine Frühpensionierung leisten kann?

Das finden wir sehr gerne für Sie heraus! Wir erstellen z.B. eine Übersicht über Ihr Finanzleben unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Szenarien (gestaffelte Auszahlung Säule 3a Guthaben, Rente versus Kapitalbezug etc.). Nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf.

Muss ich eine GmbH gründen, wenn ich mich selbständig machen will?

Nicht zwingend. Ihre individuelle Familiensituation und damit das Bedürfnis nach Sicherheit im Falle von Unfall oder Krankheit könnte einen Einfluss haben auf die Antwort auf diese Frage. Lassen Sie uns darüber in einem persönlichen Gespräch diskutieren: Kontakt